The Australian Government through the Australian Sports Commission recognises the Australian Kendo Renmei as the National Sporting Organisation to develop kendo, iaido and jodo in Australia


The International Kendo Federation

International Kendo Federation

The international federation of national kendo associations.


The Global Association of International Sporting Federations

UniSport Australia

Australian University Sport

Proud supporter of Girls Make Your Move

Results: 2008. 16th Australian Iaido and 7th Australian Jodo Championships

Results – 16th Australian Iaido Championships

6-4 Kyu Grade Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: JAMES CUP
  • 1st Place: Vincent Sia (WA)
  • 2nd Place: Tim Wilson (VIC)

1-3 Kyu Grade Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: HAGA CUP
  • 1st Place: Paul D’Intino (VIC)
  • 2nd Place: Peter Lee (VIC)

Shodan Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: UENO CUP
  • 1st Place: Ben Jackson (VIC)
  • 2nd Place: Brendan Kee (ACT)

Nidan Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: BUTLER CUP
  • 1st Place: Sugio Takenori (QLD)
  • 2nd Place: Matt Deane (VIC)

Sandan Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: Milton CUP
  • 1st Place: Marcus Lee-Steere (VIC)
  • 2nd Place: Brendan Frost (VIC)

Yondan Individual:

  • Perpetual Trophy: BLUE LEAF CUP
  • 1st Place: Claire Chan (VIC)
  • 2nd Place: Jeri James (WA)


  • Perpetual Trophy: NAKANISHI CUP
  • 1st Place: Victoria “A”
  • 2nd Place: Victoria “B”

Iaido Encouragement Awards:

  • Steven Boulais (NSW)
  • Chris Smith (TAS)


Results – 7th Australian Jodo Championships

Jodo Pairs Kyu Grade Championship:

  • Perpetual Trophy:  NAGAYAMA CUP
  • 1st Place: Chris Smith/Dylan Labeschagne (TAS)
  • 2nd Place: Rishni Ratnam/Stephen Spencer (ACT)

Jodo Pairs Dan Grade Championship:

  • Perpetual Trophy: LAWRENCE CUP
  • 1st Place: Russell Lawrence (WA)/ Marcus Lee-Steere (VIC)
  • 2nd Place: Andrea Pickering/Brendon Frost (VIC)

Jodo Encouragement Awards:

  • Stephen Spencer (ACT)
  • Ben Sawers (VIC)